The famed British sprinter - who endured tough crashes in the last year and a half - has set his sights on 35 career stage wins at the Tour de France.
Two riders have won the young rider classification three times in their respective careers: Jan Ullrich and Andy Schleck.
Preceding the race tricks to win on slot machines city was more attractive to advertisers because spectators gathered by the road long before the race or could be attracted from their houses.
The 19 Tours, however, consisted mainly of team time-trials, an unsuccessful experiment which sought to avoid a proliferation of sprint finishes on flat stages.Archived from the original on Retrieved "94ème Tour de France 2007" (in French).L'Équipe 's race was better organised and appealed more to the public because it featured national teams that had been successful before the war, when French cycling was at a high.In stage 9, Sylvain Chavanel, who was second in the king of the mountains classification, wore the polka-dot jersey, because Michael Rasmussen (in first place) wore the yellow jersey as leader of the general classification during that stage.In 2009, the winner received 450,000, while each of the 21 stage winners won 8,000 (10,000 for the team time-trial stage).80 As of 2015, the points awarded stands as: 81 Type 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th 13th 14th 15th Flat stage finish Medium mountain stage finish High mountain stage finish Individual time trial Intermediate sprint Young rider classification.The Unknown Tour De France: The Many Faces of the World's Biggest Bicycle Race.Here he performs his own repair, as required by the rules of the day.
Dopage: l'imposture des performances : mensonges et vérités sur l'école de la triche.
In the case of a solo break, the winner's gap is the bonus, up to 2 minutes.
181 The fastest massed-start stage was in 1999 from Laval to Blois (194.5 kilometres (120.9 mi won by Mario Cipollini.4 kilometres per hour (31.3 mph).
From 20,000 francs the first year, prize money has increased each year, although from 1976 to 1987 the first prize was an apartment offered by a race sponsor.
Retrieved "Tour de France Letters Special ".(July 2015) Months before the start of the 1988 Tour, director Jean-François Naquet-Radiguet was replaced by Xavier Louy.96 Bonuses were previously also awarded to winners of intermediate sprints.He benefitted from a fantastically-organised lead-out from his Quick Step team, with four men on the front in the final kilometre executing their jobs perfectly.2009: 18 July, Stage 14: A spectator in her 60s was struck and killed by a police motorcycle while crossing a road along the route near Wittelsheim.The riders in the team that lead this classification were identified with yellow numbers.GC after Stage 13B: Romain Maes: 81hr 0min 34sec Francesco Camusso @ 8min 14sec Georges Speicher @ 9min 27sec Ambrogio Morelli @ 12min 21sec Félicien Vervaecke @ 23min 59sec Sylvère Maes @ 28min 59sec Jules Lowie @ 30min 37sec René Vietto @ 33min 51sec Gabriel.Archived from the original on Retrieved b "Regulations of the race" (PDF).

7 8 The modern editions of the Tour de France consist of 21 day-long segments (stages) over a 23-day period and cover around 3,500 kilometres (2,200 mi).
Questions: Can he improve in the individual time trial after struggling last year?
75 This increases the likelihood of a sprinter winning the points classification, though other riders can be competitive for the classification if they have a sufficient number of high-place finishes.